Online Magazine Edited by The national union of filmmakers

Film Critics Association 2015 Award for Best Film Journalism

Winners of the 10th Edition of Gopo Awards

     On Monday night, March 28th, the Great Hall of I.L. Caragiale National Theatre seemed too small for those over 900 guests to Gopo Awards Gala, when the most important prizes in the Romanian film industry were awarded.
     Aferim!, the film with the largest number of nominations at 2016 Gopo Awards, swept off 13 13 Gopo statuettes, among which there were the most important trophies of the evenings: Best Film, Best Director (Radu Jude) and Best Script (Radu Jude and Florin Lăzărescu), as well as Best Audience Award. And the list goes on: Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Musical Score, Best Set Design, Best Costume Design, Best Make-up and Hairstyling.
     Teodor Corban, playing Costandin in Aferim!, won the Best Actor Award, Alexandru Dabija, playing boyar Iordache Cîndescu in the same film, went home with the Gopo statuette for Best Supporting Actor, and Mihaela Sîrbu, playing Sultana, won her second Gopo trophy of her career – Best Supporting Actress  .
     Ioana Flora, having already a Gopo trophy under her belt as Best Supporting Actress, won last night also the Best Actress Award for the role Paula played in the debut full-length feature by director Andrei CohnAcasă la tata (Back Home).
     Nicolae Constantin Tănase, director of the full-length feature Lumea e a mea (The World Is Mine), nominated at 7 categories, won the Best First Feature Award, thus confirming he really deserved the prize he got in 2013 – Best New Hope, and Ana Maria Guran, who played in the same feature, won the Best New Hope Gopo Award.
     Aliyah Dada, the debut feature by Oana Giurgiu, won the Best Documentary Award, Ramona, directed by Andrei Crețulescu, won the Best Short Film Award, and Chat with Alice (directed by Sandra Isabela Ţenţ) won the Best Documentary Short Award.
     The Best European Film Award went to Leviatan / Leviathan (directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev), and distributed in Romania by Voodoo Films.
     Memorable moments were also the granting of the Lifetime Achievement Award Florin Piersic and Entire Performing Activity Award Constantin Drăgănescu. A Special Award was granted to stuntman Paul Fister.
     Further details at:

Tags: aferim film, câştigători premiile gopo 2016, ioana flora, lumea e a mea film, teodor corban